· Chefs Du Jour ·

Chef Du Jour : Bad Gyal – Nicest Cocky (prod. Paul Marmota)

This post is also available in: Français

The ascent of our favorite Catalan girl Bad Gyal in one year was simply super bluffing.  After her mixtape, carried by the hit Fiebre Riddim produced by King Doudou, which broke everything in 2016, the young pearl of the dancehall-trap-reggaetón-what-you-want enchains collaborations with prestigious producers. We just recovered from her last single Jacaranda produced by Californian Dubbel Dutch, and here’s already a new vidéo clip: Nicest Cocky, produced by Mexican homie Paul Marmota.

Nicest Cocky definitely displays a darker side of Bad Gyal. A slowed down and obscure dancehall, far from the festive  Jacaranda, that doesn’t prevent her from proving a little more her innate talent for perreo. The fine visuals, filmed by Roger Guàrdia for the production company CANADA (based in London and Barcelona, as its name does not indicate) undeniably sublimates the talent and artistic creativity of Bad Gyal. The singing, this time in English (not necessarily more understandable than her Spanish for the non-Hispanophones) and Catalan, as well as the futuristic (and terribly actual) production of Paul Marmota make of Nicest Cocky one of the more interesting and ambitious pieces in the repertory of this talented fan of Jamaican riddims.

Far from having made an accessible hit, with Nicest Cocky, Bad Gyal proves to us that she is not a one-hit-wonder and that she still has a lot of material to surprise us and continue to make showcases in the whole world.

Find Bad Gyal this weekend at the Sònar in Barcelona and Paul Marmota on tour all over Europe this summer with a visit at Plage Club in Nancy in July.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Chefs Du Jour

Chef Du Jour : Bad Gyal – Nicest Cocky (prod. Paul Marmota)

This post is also available in: English

L’ascension de notre catalane préférée Bad Gyal en un an a été tout simplement ultra bluffante. Après sa mixtape, portée par le hit Fiebre Riddim produit par King Doudou, qui a tout cassé en 2016, la jeune perle du dancehall-trap-reggaetón-ce-que-tu-veux enchaine les collaborations avec les producteurs prestigieux. Nous sommes tout juste remis de son single Jacaranda produit par le californien Dubbel Dutch, que voici déjà le nouveau vidéo clip de Bad Gyal : Nicest Cocky, produit par le homie mexicain Paul Marmota.

Nicest Cocky montre définitivement une facette plus sombre de Bad Gyal. Un dancehall ralenti et obscur, loin du festif Jacaranda, qui n’empêche pas la jeune espagnole de nous démontrer toujours un peu plus son talent inné pour le perreo. L’esthétique léchée du clip réalisé par Roger Guàrdia pour la maison de production CANADA (basée à Londres et à Barcelone, comme son nom ne l’indique pas) sublime indéniablement le talent et la créativité artistique de Bad Gyal. Le chant, cette-fois ci en anglais (pas forcément plus compréhensible que son espagnol pour les non-hispanophones d’ailleurs) et catalan, ainsi que la production futuriste (et terriblement actuelle) de Paul Marmota font de Nicest Cocky un des morceaux les plus intéressants et ambitieux du répertoire de la talentueuse fan des riddims jamaïcains.

Loin d’avoir fait un tube accessible, avec Nicest Cocky, Bad Gyal nous prouve qu’elle n’est pas une one-hit-wonder et qu’elle a encore beaucoup de matière pour nous surprendre et continuer de faire des showcases dans le monde entier.

Retrouvez Bad Gyal ce week-end au Sònar de Barcelone et Paul Marmota en tournée dans toute l’Europe cet été avec un passage chez Plage Club à Nancy courant juillet.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*