· Reviews ·

Parkingstone, “Dandelion 1” or the description of a breach

This post is also available in: Français

Dandelion 1 is the first chapter in a mega compilation by Parkingstone. What is Parkingstone? For those who have lived in a cave for the past three years, Parkingstone has undoubtedly been one of the best attempts to bring the party to life in recent years in France and in Europe. In any case, an attempt at a contemporary and militant political utopia where the question is not simply to party but also to imagine a world where the white hetero-patriarchy would have given way to a trans pastoral.

A trans pastoral is the idea of ​​a life, a place where for a time all the oppressions of the world, economic, gender, race, are suspended to make way for life not mediated by the dominions that cross our lives. The ultimate safe space.

Dandelion 1 or the description of a breach.

This is ultimately what is at stake in this first volume of the Dandelion compilation, reporting through music a breach in the heteronormative world as it goes.

In this first opus we find a skilful mix between local crews and global music. So we naturally find both Angel Halliwell and his harp, as Chino Amobi one of the bosses of the very important African diaspora collective Non Worldwide, which marked the second half of the 2010s, or even Imaabs the face of the South American scene works with the NAAFI and who is currently busy covering the Chilean insurgency as much as possible. In this groove, the compilation also brings together Paul Marmota and Ziúr whom we love very much at the editorial office.

We also meet in Dandelion 1 Tygapaw which represents, a neo-vogue scene rather close to the experiments proposed by Fade To Mind in the early 2010s while really radicalizing the approach (we talked about his last ultra important and edgy LP). Further back is the return of the local Crew with the goddess of vnr Crystallmess that we can never stop loving as she does so much good in the hexagonal landscape. To finish opening the panorama we also have Kilbourne whose aim for power tracks is never disappointing, or Baby Blue.

Each artist on this compilation deserves a quote, but the simplest is perhaps to go listen to the compilation in order to realize the excellent curatorial work carried out by Simone Thiébaut during the Parkingstone years which have looks like making a new start with these compilations.

Beyond a simple descriptive, citing artists, it seems important to focus on what draws these compilations, represented collective (Bala Club/NON/NAAFI/Staycore etc) and invited artists are really among those who rewrite the map of modern music. The one that is not just centred around a dominant white, heterosexual and colonial vision. The one that moves the codes and the issues to get out of the sad party and enter the party of the present, of the sensitivity, of the lives and bodies of each and everyone.

The Parkingstone compilations sound great and perhaps, they are making way for a new era, at least we hope so. An era where each life counts or each body is political, and where each dance step goes a little beyond the simple consumerism of an evening to build a possible future, a hybrid future, a trans future where everyone mingles in the respect, multiple identities and the need to create something beyond the grey world that serves as a disappointing dancefloor.

If I Can’t Dance I Don’t Want To Be Part Of Your Revolution, said Emma Goldmann. This may also be what Parkingstone puts into practice.

A release party is announced for February 7, we really urge you to show up there because it will be really good.

Compilation 2 is already online and downloadable on the Parkingstone Bandcamp, the third volume will arrive at the end of January and it looks just as good as the ones before!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

parkingstone dandelion
parkingstone dandelion

Parkingstone, « Dandelion 1 » ou la description d’une brèche

Dandelion 1 est le premier chapitre d’une méga compilation imaginée par Parkingstone. Parkingstone c’est quoi ? Pour ceux qui ont vécu dans une grotte ces trois dernières années, Parkingstone est sans doute ce qui a été une des plus belles tentatives de faire vivre la fête autrement ces dernières années en France et en Europe. En tout cas une tentative d’utopie politique contemporaine et militante où la question n’est pas simplement de faire la fête mais aussi d’imaginer un monde où l’hétéro-patriarcat blanc aurait laissé la place à une pastorale trans.

Une pastorale trans, c’est l’idée d’une vie, d’un lieu où pour un temps l’ensemble des oppressions du monde, économique, de genre, de race, se suspendent pour laisser place à la vie non médiatisée par les dominations qui traversent nos vies.

Dandelion 1 ou la description d’une brèche.

C’est finalement bien là l’enjeu de ce premier volume de la compilation Dandelion, rendre compte par la musique d’une brèche dans le monde dominé comme il va. Et en rendre compte par le contemporain de la musique, sans message a priori autre que celui d’un monde qui mute et s’hybride.

Dans ce premier opus on retrouve un habile mélange entre local crew et musique globale. On retrouve donc aussi bien Ange Halliwell et sa harpe, que Chino Amobi un des boss du très important collectif de diaspora Africaine Non Worldwide, qui a marqué la deuxième moitié des années 2010, ou bien encore Imaabs figure de prou de la scène Sud Américaine qui fricote avec les NAAFI et s’occupe actuellement de médiatiser autant que possible la situation insurrectionnelle Chilienne. Dans ce sillon la compilation regroupe aussi Paul Marmota et Ziúr qu’on adore beaucoup à la rédac.

On croise aussi dans Dandelion 1 Tygapaw qui représente elle, une scène néo-vogue plutôt proche des expérimentations proposées par Fade To Mind au début des années 2010 tout en radicalisant vraiment la démarche (on avait parlé de son dernier LP ultra important et énervé). Plus loin c’est le retour du local crew avec la déesse du vnr Crystallmess qu’on ne pourra jamais cesser d’aimer tant elle fait du bien dans le paysage hexagonal et puis pour finir d’ouvrir le panorama on retrouve aussi Kilbourne dans le genre mettons le cap sur la puissance, ou encore Baby Blue.

Chaque artiste présent.e sur cette compilation mériterait une citation, mais le plus simple c’est peut-être d’aller écouter la compilation pour se rendre compte de l’excellent travail curatorial réalisé par Simone Thiébaut durant les années Parkingstone qui ont l’air de prendre un nouveau départ avec ces compilations.

Au delà d’un simple descriptif, en citant les artistes, il paraît important de mettre l’accent sur ce que dessine ces compilations, les collectifs représentés (Bala Club / NON / NAAFI / Staycore etc) et les artistes invité.e.s, sont vraiment ceux qui écrivent une nouvelle cartographie de la musique. Celle qui n’est plus simplement centrée autour d’une vision dominante, blanche, hétérosexuelle et occidentale. Celle qui déplace les codes et les enjeux pour sortir de la fête triste et rentrer dans la fête du maintenant, du sensible, des vies et des corps de chacun et chacune.

Les compilations Parkingstone sonnent et annoncent peut-être une nouvelle ère, en tout cas on l’espère. Une ère où chaque vie compte, ou chaque corps est politique, et ou chaque pas de danse dépasse un peu le simple consumérisme d’une soirée pour construire un futur possible, un futur hybride, un futur trans où tous et toutes se mêlent dans le respect, les identités multiples et la nécessité de créer autre chose que le monde gris qui nous sert de dancefloor mortifère.

If I Can’t Dance I Don’t Want To Be Part Of Your Revolution, disait Emma Goldmann. C’est peut-être aussi ça que met en pratique Parkingstone.

Une relesase party s’annonce pour le 7 Février on vous engage vraiment à vous y pointer parce que ça sera vraiment bien.

La compilation 2 est déjà en ligne et téléchargeable sur le Bandcamp de Parkingstone, le troisième volume arrivera fin janvier et il s’annonce tout aussi beau et bien !

More articles
[PREMIERE] Tim Karbon – Boiling Mafé Bowl [Egregore]