· Reviews ·

Subreal, the new label launched by Siete Catorce and Amazondotcom

This post is also available in: Français

SUBREAL is a brand new label founded by Siete Catorce (Marco Polo Gutierrez) and Amazondotcom (Stella Ahn), based between Mexico City and Los Angeles. Its vocation is to dedicate itself to unique and out of the ordinary musical projects. They want to bring together a community of artists on the margins of dominant cultures and encourage them to break free from the boundaries of gender to create their own “sub-reality”, their own musical universe. To launch the hostilities, SUBREAL announces the first solo EP of Amazondotcom called “Mirror River”.

Stella Ahn is a producer and multidisciplinary artist based in Los Angeles. We saw some of her performances as Amazondotcom in Boiler Room or at the Music Festival Los Angeles. As an artist, she has exhibited texts, videos and installations around the world, including in Paris’ Palais de Tokyo and NY’s AC Institute.

Amazondotcom’s “Mirror River”, first release of SUBREAL

“Mirror River”, with its ritual rhythms, deep bass and synths, takes us into the shamanic imagination of its creator and puts us in a state of trance. This EP is composed of 4 titles that are part of the same universe. Creating something far away from traditional club music, sounds and tropical rhythms mingle with electronic sounds to offer us a freshness and a special feeling. To do this, she uses samples of birds, trees and crowds which she treated and mixed with powerful synths to design this unique atmosphere.

Her way of working is inspired by animism as she tells us that she lets herself be carried by the flow of forces, the affect, the matter and the time, rather than the genre or the intention. For her, shamanism can be considered as the animation of the forces of nature, the forces of the invisible, and this is what she applies to her own creative process.

Amazondotcom’s “Mirror River” is available now in streaming and vinyl.

subreal amazondotcom couvre x chefs 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Chroniques

Subreal, le nouveau label lancé par Siete Catorce et Amazondotcom

This post is also available in: English

SUBREAL est un tout nouveau label fondé par Siete Catorce (Marco Polo Gutierrez) et Amazondotcom (Stella Ahn), basé entre Mexico et Los Angeles. Il a pour vocation de se dédier à des projets musicaux uniques et hors du commun. Ils souhaitent réunir une communauté d’artistes en marges des cultures dominantes et à les encourager à s’affranchir des frontières de genre pour créer eux-mêmes leurs propres « sous-réalités », leurs propres univers musicaux. Pour lancer les hostilités, SUBREAL sort le premier EP solo d’Amazondotcom , « Mirror River ».

Stella Ahn est une productrice et une artiste multidisciplinaire résidant à Los Angeles. On a pu apercevoir certaines de ses prestations en tant qu’Amazondotcom dans Boiler Room ou encore au Music Festival Los Angeles. En tant qu’artiste, elle a exposé des textes, des vidéos et des installations un peu partout dans le monde, notamment au Palais de Tokyo ou encore à l’AC Institute de New York.

« Mirror River » d’Amazondotcom, première sortie de SUBREAL

« Mirror River », avec ses rythmes rituels, ses basses profondes et ses synthés, nous emporte dans l’imaginaire chamanique de sa créatrice et nous met en transe. Cet EP est composé de 4 titres qui font partie d’un même univers. Hors des sentiers battus de la musique club traditionnelle, les sonorités et les rythmes tropicaux se mêlent à des sons électroniques pour nous offrir une fraicheur et un feeling tout particulier. Pour ce faire, elle a utilisé des samples d’oiseaux, d’arbres et de foules qu’elle a traité puis mêlés à de puissants synthés concevant ainsi cette ambiance si singulière.

Sa façon de travailler est inspiré par l’animisme, elle explique qu’elle se laisse portée par le flux des forces, l’affect, la matière et le temps, plutôt que le genre ou l’intention. Pour elle, le chamanisme peut être considéré comme l’animation des forces de la nature, des forces de l’invisible et c’est ce qu’elle applique à son propre processus de création.

« Mirror River » d’Amazondotcom est disponible dès maintenant en streaming et en vinyle.

subreal amazondotcom couvre x chefs 2

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*