· Chefs Du Jour ·

PREMIERE : Onelight – “Chromexcel” [Pschent Music]

This post is also available in: Français

Onelight JEALOUSY CHROMEXCEL STUDIOJIMBO Couvre x ChefsVisual of the single Jealousy / Chromexcel by Onelight, signed Studio Jimbo


 

Only a few months after releasing his first album, Vanderlay, in late December 2018, the talented producer, eminent DJ and incredible radio host Onelight (if you still doubt, listen to his monthly residency on Rinse France) is back to please us. This time it is a two tracks single: Jealousy and Chromexcel. The lead song, Jealousy, is a featuring with Los Angeles-based singer Dede and for whom Onelight has made a remix that will be released this year.

I liked her voice so much that I wanted to work with her on a piece. She agreed and it went really well. She is a complete artist, who works with producers I love, like Waajeed or Kingdom, and is also a photographer and videographer. She is also preparing a clip for the track. I really advise you to listen to what she does, she is great.

The Modern Pop/RnB atmosphere that hangs over this new Onelight single is evocative of an elegant encounter between Bok Bok, Girl Unit and Jimmy Edgar.

 

Onelight Astratakesphotos couvre x chefsOnelight, photo © Astratakesphotos

 

Exclusive listening: Chromexcel by Onelight

The second track of the single, Chromexcel, is a totally instrumental one, somewhere between Electronica and RnB, or maybe it just brilliantly combines the two, synthesizing genres that Onelight explores in DJ set for a dozen years. He explained to us the genesis of this piece:

It’s no secret, for people who follow me or know me, Jimmy Edgar is an artist who has fascinated me since I was a teenager. His way of mixing R’n’B and Electronica among others, which are two genres that come together on many aspects, including rhythmic, inspires me a lot. Machinedrum also, for the same reasons. I think it’s [Chromexcel, Ed] in the end a track quite off format but that’s what makes it interesting. I wanted to mix some cold synthetic sounds with warmer voices and guitar. I really like the emotion it generates.

 

 

Both tracks of this new single were composed by Onelight after the entirety of his album Vanderlay (Pschent Music, Dec. 2018), and thus brings the musical project of their author in a more Pop/RnB direction, which was not really present in his long format. This new change of place is not to displease us when listening to the quality of Jealousy and Chromexcel. His next single is already ready, and will feature the English singer Dakota Sixx, stay tuned!

Onelight’s single Jealousy / Chromexcel will be available on March 29 at Pschent Music.

Do not miss Onelight on March 31 at 1999, April 4 at l’International with the band Supermusique or his remix for Baron Rétif & Concepción Perez coming to Musique Large on April 5th.

 



Onelight SoundCloud Mixcloud Spotify Instagram Facebook



 

Article Philou CxC

English translation Scarlett
 


 

CxC AGENDA

March 21: Plage Club w/ Ms Nina & Promesses, Artem (Nancy). 

March 29: Couvre x Chefs présente Couvre x Feu w/Stranacorpus, 9b (Paris).

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Chefs Du Jour

PREMIERE : Onelight – « Chromexcel » [Pschent Music]

This post is also available in: English

Onelight JEALOUSY CHROMEXCEL STUDIOJIMBO Couvre x ChefsVisuel du single Jealousy / Chromexcel de Onelight, signé Studio Jimbo


 

Seulement quelques mois après son premier album, Vanderlay, sorti fin décembre 2018, le talentueux producteur, émminent DJ et incroyable radio host Onelight (si vous en doutez encore, écoutez plutôt sa résidence mensuelle sur Rinse France) est de retour avec une belle actualité. Il s’agit cette fois-ci d’un single composé de deux pistes : Jealousy et Chromexcel. Le morceau phare, Jealousy, est un featuring avec la chanteuse Dede, basée à Los Angeles, pour qui Onelight a réalisé un remix qui sortira cette année.

J’ai tellement aimé sa voix que j’ai voulu travaillé avec elle sur un morceau. Elle a accepté et ça s’est super bien passé. C’est une artiste complète au possible, qui bosse avec des producteurs que j’adore, comme Waajeed ou Kingdom, et qui est aussi  photographe et vidéaste. Elle prépare d’ailleurs un clip pour le morceau. Je vous conseille vraiment d’écouter ce qu’elle fait, elle est formidable.

L’atmosphère pop / r&b moderne qui plane sur l’ensemble de ce nouveau single de Onelight, ce n’est pas sans évoquer une élégante rencontre entre Bok Bok, Girl Unit et Jimmy Edgar.

 

Onelight Astratakesphotos couvre x chefsOnelight, photo © Astratakesphotos

 

En écoute exclusive : Chromexcel de Onelight

Le second morceau du single, Chromexcel, est quand à lui une piste totalement instrumentale, qui se situe quelque part entre electronica et r’n’b, à moins qu’il ne combine brillamment les deux, synthétisant ainsi des genres que Onelight explore en DJ set depuis une dizaine d’année déjà. Il nous a expliqué lui-même la genèse de ce morceau :

Ce n’est pas un secret, pour les gens qui me suivent ou me connaissent, Jimmy Edgar est un artiste qui me passionne depuis que je suis ado. Sa manière de mélanger R’n’B et Electronica entre autre, qui sont deux genres qui se rejoignent sur pleins d’aspects, notamment rythmique, m’inspire beaucoup. Machinedrum également, pour les mêmes raisons. Je crois que c’est [Chromexcel, NDLR] au final un track assez hors format mais c’est ce qui le rend intéressant. J’ai voulu mélanger des sons synthétiques un peu froids avec des voix et une guitare plus chaudes. J’aime vraiment l’émotion que ça génère.

 

 

Les deux titres de ce nouveau single ont été composés par Onelight après l’intégralité de son album évoqué plus haut, Vanderlay (Pschent Music, dec. 2018), et souffle ainsi le projet musical de leur auteur dans une direction plus pop/rnb, qui n’était pas vraiment présente dans son long format. Ce qui n’est pas pour nous déplaire, à l’écoute de la qualité de Jealousy et Chromexcel. Son single suivant est déjà prêt, et mettra en vedette la chanteuse anglaise Dakota Sixx, restez dans les parages !

Le single Jealousy / Chromexcel de Onelight sera disponible le 29 mars chez Pschent Music.

Ne manquez pas également Onelight le 31 mars au 1999, le 4 avril à l’International avec le groupe Supermusique ni son remix pour Baron Rétif & Concepción Perez à venir chez Musique Large le 5 avril.

 



Onelight SoundCloud Mixcloud Spotify Instagram Facebook



 

Article Philou CxC
 


 

CxC AGENDA

21 mars : Plage Club w/ Ms Nina & Promesses, Artem (Nancy).

29 mars : Couvre x Chefs présente Couvre x Feu avec Stranacorpus, 9b (Paris).

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*