· Reviews ·

LL❦ composes the French hybrid R’n’B of the future

This post is also available in: Français

In late 1962, on the screens of the ORTF (french’s older version of television) the show “while waiting for their coach” had a blessed moment. Françoise Hardy sang “La Fille Avec Toi” and from that moment, never again would French pop music be the same.

In 2010, a strange, introspective and experimental album was released : Alizée’s “Une Enfant du Siècle”, accompanied by all of France’s electronic chic. It was without a doubt, the most beautiful incarnation of a genre that hardly exists in France: electronic pop.

This summer is LL❦‘s turn to be in the spotlight. Close to French rapper Jorrdee and the French hip-hop revival, as much as R’n’B french touch, he released Bank Music in 3 volumes. We decided to share the B.A.N.K.R.O.O.L clip to celebrate this amazing triple release.

First reason is, because there is a really cute cat in the clip. Second reason, and most important one is because it is a beautiful killer track. Heavy production, road trip version, peri-urban countryside area vibe, sensitive lyrics, what strikes the most is the singularity of LL❦’s work.

Without focusing too much on the beautiful track and clip or on the first releases of Volume 1 of Bank Music, I would rather like to insist on a rare and essential element to step into the world of LL❦ which is the next release entilted Volume 2, which has two stunning and beautiful tracks: “T’as vu” and “Tire”.

Something is happening within LL❦ which is a mix between naïve art, ignoring any style borders, french pop and internet r’n’b. Something that gives a particular strength to his productions, a “naive” force, a “sensitive” force. Naive especially, because there is something extremely simple in his work, simple and also touching as much in the texts as in some productions.

Paradoxically, this seeming touching naivety is also the driving force of a very dense intensity in these productions.

To summarize a little, LL❦ probably produces one of the most beautiful hybridizations of today’s r’n’b. As much pop as hip hop, r’n’b, and sometimes even trap in the instrumental part. Hybrid influences to make them in a kind of simplicity, a kind of very bare gesture, which rests on an almost fragile posture and a really beautiful writing.

LL❦ now writes the hybrid R’n’B of the future, with a special mention to “T’as vu” which is a kind of love pop R’n’B masterpiece , delicate instrumental, perfectly hesitant voice, smart lyrics, probably one of the most beautiful emotion track sung in French this year 2019.

LL❦ is one of those rare moments of graces that music still offers us, it has something fascinating and tense, a strong emotional density. And for that, we urge you to follow step by step the release of volume 2 which will come very soon, and a volume 3 of Bank Music which also seems very attractive and which includes instrumental tracks signed by the boss King Doudou.

Sweetness, naivety and emotion, here are the precious ingredients of this brand new release by LL❦, which you should listen to with great attention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Chroniques

LL❦ compose le r’n’b hybridé du futur

This post is also available in: English

En 1962 sur les écrans de l’ORTF dans l’émission « en attendant leur carrosse », une apparition. Françoise Hardy chante « La Fille Avec Toi » et plus jamais la pop music française ne sera la même.

En 2010, un album étrange, introspectif, expérimental sort, « Une Enfant du Siècle », Alizée accompagnée de tout ce que compte de chic électronique à la française, commet sans doute sa plus belle incartade dans un genre qui existe à peine en France : la pop électronique.

Cet été c’est LL❦, proche de Jorrdee et du renouveau hip-hop, r’n’b french touch, sort Bank Music en 3 volumes, on a décidé de vous partager le clip B.A.N.K.R.O.O.L pour fêter cette fat triple sorties.

D’abord parce qu’on voit un chat vraiment mignon dans le clip, ensuite et surtout parce que c’est une belle tuerie. Production bien lourde, road trip version zone péri-urbaine de campagne , paroles sensibles, et surtout ce qui frappe, c’est la singularité de LL❦.

Sans s’arrêter simplement sur le très beau titre et clip, ni sur les premières sorties du Volume 1 de Bank Music, j’aimerais plutôt insister sur une chose rare et essentielle pour rentrer dans l’univers de LL❦ et notamment la prochaine sortie du Volume 2 qui arrive, qui compte deux titres bouleversants et magnifiques, « T’as vu » et « Tire ».

Quelque chose se joue chez LL❦ qui est de l’ordre d’un croisement entre art naïf, ignorant style, french pop et r’n’b internet. Quelque chose qui donne une force assez particulière à ses productions, une force « naïve », une force « sensible ». Naïve, parce qu’il y a quelque chose d’extrêmement simple et touchant autant dans les textes que dans certaines productions.

Paradoxalement cette apparente naïveté touchante, est aussi le moteur d’une intensité très dense dans ces productions.

Pour résumer un peu le propos, LL❦ produit sans doute une des plus belles hybridations du r’n’b actuel. Autant pop qu’hip-hop, r’n’b voire parfois presque trap dans les prods. LL❦ hybride les influences pour les rendre à une sorte de simplicité, une sorte de geste très dépouillé, qui repose sur une voie presque fragile et une écriture vraiment belle.

LL❦ compose maintenant le r’n’b hybridé du futur, mention spéciale à « T’as vu » qui est vraiment une sorte de masterpiece amoureuse pop r’n’b, prod délicate, voix parfaitement hésitante, texte ciselé, sans doute une des plus jolies émotions chantées en français de cette année 2019.

LL❦ fait parti de ces rares grâces que peut nous offrir encore la musique, elle a quelque chose d’envoutant, quelque chose de tendu, une densité émotionnelle forte. Et pour ça on vous engage à suivre de proche en proche la sortie du volume 2 qui arrive très prochainement, et un volume 3 de Bank Music qui s’annonce également très alléchant avec notamment des prods signés par le boss King Doudou.

Douceur, naïveté et émotion, voilà en tout cas les ingrédients précieux qui arrivent en vague avec LL❦ , et ça vaut plus que le coup d’y jeter les deux oreilles.

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*