· Reviews ·

Tygapaw, “a journey of the queer black womxn experience”

This post is also available in: Français

While all over the world we are about to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots [1] against a backdrop of pinkwashing and political “tolerance”, the New York label Fake Accent is releasing an EP to handle with care. Care? OK, but what is it exactly that we should handle with care?

Tygapaw, Handle With Care
Tygapaw, Handle With Care

“Handle With Care is a personal tale of my journey as a black caribbean woman living in NYC. Coming to terms with unsettling truths about the emotional abusive nature of my Jamaican upbringing and the normalization of domestic violence. As it is deeply embedded in the fabric of Caribbean culture, from the ripple effect of colonialism.”

Tygapaw

Tygapaw’s EP Handle With Care is a rather radical testimony of the journey of a queer black woman, originally from the Caribbean, more precisely from Jamaica, who lives in New York, it is the receiving point of emotions, sensations, feeling of discriminations, of policies which forces itself on the body and the mind, often in an even more narrow way.

Let’s be honest here, this personal story is a prowess in the strictest sense of the term. First in the power it releases around a very cleverly arranged process of radicalization of tropes of any music – let’s call it “queer” (voguing in particular) and hardcore / rave (version Liza ‘n’ Eliaz). Second, because the strength of these five tracks is immense, massive and of rare intelligence.

Spinoza has only to behave well.

Everything is clever, everything is right, everything is political. From field recording, field reporting and discreet voguing samples, to Bag Juice, which puts the Jamaican “Patwa” in abyss to reinforce and personify the liberation of an oppressive space to another …

Rave, techno, trance, distortion and Patwa. Everything is there to tell this sedimentation of oppression, from one space to another.

All Ep is built on this thread, between personal experience, internalization of oppression, frustration and liberation.

“Overall it will be difficult to endure trauma, emotional abuse, homophobia, colourism, and classism, and aims to take the listener on a journey of the queer black womxn experience.”

Tygapaw

Everything is there, everything makes sense, everything is powerful, everything has a real radicalism and it is in this narrow mixture between personal narrative and political undergone, oppression of bodies and spaces, that lies the monstrous power of Handle with Care.

At a time when wherever you are, the largest multinationals, and state associations are seizing and dispossessing the first concerned of the queer struggles, necessarily intersectional and anti-capitalist, Handle with Care, by the thoroughness of its arrangements and references, gives a glimpse of the political reality of what would be a worthy legacy of the Stonewall riots.

End the oppression of bodies, spaces and spirits. To put an end to the rampant colonization, to put an end to the gentrification that is always repeated and to move us further and further away from life, to end our lives sold as a cheap political alibi under the guise of “progressivism”.

tygapaw handle with care couvre x chefs (2)
Tygapaw, source Facebook

Handle With Care gives birth to the monsters that there are in each of us, it explores in its own way the movement that takes place between the spaces, the sensations, the feelings and the reality that always returns to us more colourless in the face.

Handle with Care is where perhaps each of us should question one’s relationship to the world to finally consider a reality of struggles for emancipation in music as in life.

Emancipation by exorcism, emancipation by radicalism, emancipation by our lives that we finally dare to say and live. Nothing more, nothing less.

Tygapaw’s EP Handle With Care is available on Bandcamp, Spotify and SoundCloud.


[1] The Stonewall riots, are the spontaneous riots against the police that took place between June 27 and July 1, 1969, following the descent and the beating that followed at the Stonewall Inn in New York. Riots in which there were a lot of queer, trans, travesties and gay racies. It is these riots that gave rise to the gaypride, nowadays very poorly known march of pride in the French version which sports a nice flag tank, the union police lgbt. The Sontewall riots are also considered a birth certificate of the queer intersectional movement, lgbtiq +.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Chroniques

Tygapaw, « a journey of the queer black womxn experience »

This post is also available in: English

Alors que partout dans le monde on s’apprête à célébrer les 50 ans des émeutes de Stonewall [1] sur fond de pinkwashing et de « tolérance » toute politique, le label New Yorkais Fake Accent, sort un EP à manier avec précaution. Précaution, certes, mais que faut-il manier avec précaution ?

Tygapaw, Handle With Care

« Handle With Care is a personal tale of my journey as a queer black caribbean woman living in NYC. Coming to terms with unsettling truths about the emotional abusive nature of my Jamaican upbringing and the normalization of domestic violence as it transfers generation to generation without being challenged. As it is deeply embedded in the fabric of Caribbean culture, from the ripple effect of colonialism. »

Tygapaw

L’EP Handle With Care de Tygapaw est le récit assez radical du parcours d’une femme noire queer, originaire des caraïbes, plus précisément de Jamaïque, et qui habite à New York. C’est le réceptacle d’émotions, de sensations, de ressentis, de discriminations , de politiques qui contraignent les corps et les esprits souvent dans une étroitesse de plus en plus inquiétante.

Autant vous le dire tout de suite, ce récit personnel est une prouesse au sens le plus strict du terme. D’abord dans la puissance qu’il dégage autour d’un processus très habilement agencé de radicalisation de tropes de toute une musique, disons, queer (voguing notamment) et hardcore/rave (version Liza ‘n’ Eliaz). Ensuite, parce que la force dégagée par ces cinq pistes est immense, massive et d’une rare intelligence.

Spinoza n’a qu’à bien se tenir.

Tout est habile, tout est juste, tout y est politique. Des arrangements de voix façon field recording, reportage de terrain, aux discrets samples voguing, en passant par la piste Bag Juice qui met en abyme le patwa jamaïcain pour renforcer et personnifier la libération d’un espace oppressif à un autre.

Rave, techno, transe, distortion et patwa. Tout est là pour raconter cette sédimentation d’oppression, d’un espace à l’autre.

Tout l’EP est construit sur ce fil, entre expérience personnelle, intériorisation des oppressions, frustrations et libérations.

« Overall it explores the will to survive and endure trauma, emotional abuse, homophobia, colorism, and classism and aims to take the listener on a journey of the queer black womxn experience. »

Tygapaw

Tout y est, tout fait sens, tout est puissant, tout y a une radicalité non feinte et c’est bien dans cet étroit mélange entre récit personnel, et politique subie, oppression des corps et des espaces, que réside la monstrueuse puissance d’Handle with Care.

À l’heure où partout, les plus grandes multinationales, et les associations d’état s’emparent et dépossèdent les premier.e.s concerné.e.s des luttes queer, nécessairement intersectionnelles et anti-capitalistes, Handle with Care, par la minutie de ses arrangements et desses références, fait entrevoir la réalité politique de ce que serait un digne héritage des émeutes de Stonewall.

En finir avec l’oppression des corps, des espaces et des esprits. En finir avec la colonisation rampante, en finir avec la gentrification qui se répète toujours et nous éloigne toujours plus de la vie, en finir avec nos vies vendues comme alibi politique low cost sous couvert de « progressisme ».

Tygapaw, source Facebook

Handle With Care fait naitre les monstres qu’il y en chacun.e de nous, il explore à sa manière le déplacement qui s’opère entre les espaces, les sensations, les ressentis et la réalité qui nous revient toujours plus incolore en pleine face.

Handle with Care, c’est là, où peut-être chacun.e de nous devrait questionner son rapport au monde pour envisager enfin une réalité des luttes à mener pour l’émancipation dans la musique comme dans la vie.

L’émancipation par l’exorcisme, l’émancipation par la radicalité, l’émancipation par nos vies que l’on ose enfin dire et vivre. Rien de plus, rien de moins.

Handle With Care de Tygapaw est dispo sur Bandcamp, Spotify et SoundCloud.


[1] Les émeutes de Stonewall, sont les émeutes spontanées contre la police qui ont eu lieu entre le 27 Juin et le 1er juillet 1969, suite à la descente et au tabassage qui s’en est suivi au Stonewall Inn à New York. Émeutes dans lesquelles on trouvait beaucoup de queer, trans, travesties et gays racisé.e.s. Ce sont ces émeutes qui ont donné lieu aux gaypride, aujourd’hui bien mal renommée marche des fierté.e.s dans la version Française qui arbore un joli char du Flag, le syndicat de police lgbt. Les émeutes de Sontewall sont également considérées comme un acte de naissance du mouvement intersectionnel queer, lgbtiq+.

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*